User Prizes and Sites#

Prizes won by PETSc#

  • Selected by the DOE Office of Science for the 40th anniversary collection of 40 major papers that have changed the face of science: S. Balay, W.D. Gropp, L.C. McInnes, and B.F. Smith, Efficient management of parallelism in object-oriented numerical software libraries. Chapter 10 in E. Arge, A.M. Bruaset and H.P. Langtangen (Eds), Modern Software Tools in Scientific Computing, pp. 163-202 (1997)

  • The PETSc Core Development Group won the SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering for 2015

  • Jed Brown won a 2014 IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing (Early Career Researcher) in part for his work on PETSc.

  • Jed Brown won the 2014 SIAG/Supercomputing Junior Scientist Prize in part for his work on PETSc.

  • Lois Curfman McInnes and Barry Smith won the 2011 Department of Energy E. O. Lawrence Award for contributions to DOE for their work developing PETSc in the mid-1990s.

  • PETSc was a winner of a 2009 R and D 100 Award

  • PETSc was one of the Top Ten Advances in Computational Science Accomplishments of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) in 2008

Prizes won by PETSc users#

Industrial/DOE PETSc user sites over the years#

  • Shell Research

  • Boeing Research

  • GM Research

  • PPPL

  • LANL

  • SNL

  • PNNL

  • LLNL

  • ANL

DOE CSGF Users of PETSc#